Oh you dear Helvetia

Helvetia has us back! After nearly one year on the move, we finally touched Swiss soil again on January 2014 at 6:37. My dad was so kind to pick us up at the airport and to show our gratitude we moved in with my parents right away (we are sure they are happy to host two penniless, long haired backpackers). Right after touch-down we got busy, firstly we have to find an apartment and secondly, at least for Michi, starting February he will have to completely assimilate and follow a regular occupation again.

To us, the last year passed in lightning-speed and was filled with new impressions and wonderful experiences. To list them all here would take too long, but we would be happy to report in detail during a dinner or two, we can even include a sideshow for the very patient 😉

Many thanks to you for taking the time to check in with our blog every now and then and for accompanying us on our adventures.

DirtyHippies

Thailand

Mai Thai, Pinacolada and great Currys. Thailand welcomed us and many other sunseekers with warm temperatures and allegedly beautiful beaches. But regarding beaches, it appers that Tahiti and Australia had us spoiled and so this was put into persepctive after a few days. But the quality of food and drinks remained constantly high and so we dug in! Since this was the last destination on our trip, the focus was on relaxing and reilishing our last days as globetrotters. Still we found time for some sightseeing and one or two excursions on not so comfortable but in return quite adventurous „Longtail“-boats.

Fast Forward

After we’ve left Perth it definitely was time to dig out the thermal clothes again. As expected the weather got colder and rainier the further south we went. As a result, Michi decided that it was time to put his right foot down and fast forward to Sydney. Whenever the sun was out, we stopped briefly to marvel at the huge gum trees or to take a quick, though quite refreshing, bath in the southern ocean. Between Perth and Sydney, not only lies the Nullarbor which with 145.6 km (90.4 miles) is the longest straight road in Australia but also the cities Adelaide and Melbourne. Of course we visited both of them but with our minds already away on some beach bar in Thailand, we probably left out quite a view places of interest. Back in Sydney it’s now time to say goodbye to Ron Burgundy, he was a remarkably reliable and sturdy companion, but even he shows some wear from our 35’000 km (21747 miles) journey around Australia.

Perth

Since we have not seen a city since Darwin, it became about time to change that and so we drove via Monkey Mia, where Carmen had to feed a Dolphin and Michi had his second job interview (they actually did hire him despite, or maybe because, of his hairdo), to Perth.
We enjoyed the big city life a lot with window-shopping, eating delicious bread from the Swiss bakery, a cinema visit and touching the new iPhone. And although the weather was a lot cooler and more rainy than what we have gotten accustomed to, it was hard for us to leave the relaxed pace and European feel of Perth and Fremantle behind and move on.

Regarding the weather there seem to be some uncomfortable days laying ahead of us, the more south we will be heading the cooler it will get, maybe it’s time to get out the thermal underwear from the bottom of the backpack.

Burgundy & Ivory

A short time after we started our journey with Ron, he met a lady of the same age on a campground. Her name is Helga and she is also manufactured in Japan, and while she is a little more corpulent around the back she wears mostly white which is definitely more flattering than Burgundy. Helga is being piloted by Franzi and Christoph, two fellow Backpackers which at that time where already traveling for over a year. Sadly our ways had parted already the next morning since Helga had different plans than Ron.
After 3800km (2361 miles) coincidence now lead to a reunion since Franzi and Christoph where camping on Cape Leveque at the same time as us, one always meets twice in life…
The following weeks we met up several times and jointly explored the most stunning and lonely beaches along the Ningaloo Reef where we spent our time swimming, snorkeling, reading and practicing sweet idleness before they headed on towards Perth while we went to spend a couple of days at Red Bluff visiting old friends of Carmen.

Kimberley

With Western Australia we have now reached the forth state within Australia and soon we are approaching halftime at least in regards to distance traveled, but if we are going to make it back to Sydney within the time we have left remains to be seen. Right across the border from Northern Territory start the enchanting Kimberley and one catches himself wondering why we have spent so much time at the east coast when it’s so pretty here. Right a cross the heart of the Kimberley runs a remote gravel road called the Gibb River Road which is very popular with backpackers from across the world. So it happens regularly that exactly these backpackers and their cars, which are not up to the job, are stranded along this 600km road, usually with flat tires. We too did run into two of this sort. The first two guys appeared to be quite stoned and did not even have any tools to change a tyre. At the same time with us another Australian couple pulled over to help and together with them we got to stand there watching a slow motion tire change. Just a short time later, in the meantime we had gotten back on the road, we stopped for two German high-school graduates in a Jeep Cherokee also with flat tires. (Who buys a car that was built for helicopter-parents to drive their kids to Kindergarden 300m down the road?) They seemed to have already had two rough days and where a little desperate about the fact that they first took a wrong turn and made a 600 km detour and now did not have one sip of water nor a spare tire left. This because their spare was already on the car where, after only a couple of kilometers, it blew up at the same time as the front tire so that now they where sitting there with two flat tires. At my wonder how such stupidity was possible, Michi explained to me how men in the age of 18 to 25 are capable of following stupid ideas trough with determination, always convinced of their own capabilities. This sympathy and the thought that non-assistance of a person in danger is a crime, we gave them some drinking water so that they can survive the rest of the day and the night, before we headed back there the next morning to drive one of these geniuses and the two broken tires to the only tire shop on the track and then back to their car again. After leaving them again to their own destiny, we treated ourselves to a relaxing bath in the beautiful Bell Gorge and enjoyed the landscape around us.

Darwin

I was in some parts of Australia before and from these past trips I remember places I wanted to go back to. This was also the case for Litchfield National Park on our way to Darwin. Arriving at the southern entrance we tackled the 4WD track including a exiting slalom creek crossing accompanied with the usual slight water entry. This drive was lonely (in a positive way) and relaxing but the northern part of the park is also accessible to tour buses and day trippers and so it soon was over with the quietness. During my last visit over then years ago one could take quiet dips in the many amazing waterfalls and swimming holes but this time it felt more like a visit in Switzerland’s famous water park the Alpamare.
In Darwin it was time for a camping time-out. After parking Ron in front of the Hilton and approaching the reception desk with our backpacks we got a suspicious look from the lady behind the desk. We can understand her a little, by now or clothes are all quite dusty and our hairstyle (at least Michi’s) does not necessarily shout “business meeting” but maybe more “soup kitchen”. Darwin is probably nice but we can’t say for sure since we spent most of the two days in our air-conditioned room with a nice big bathroom, laying in a king size bed watching TV… it felt like haven.

Red Center

One of Australia’s famous landmarks is Uluru also called Ayers Rock and since we just happened to be close-by we drove the approximately 1100 km (683 miles) to view it. Shortly after we went on our way we had a flat tire, a screw had drilled into the rubber and the tire was slowly but steadily loosing air. Made aware of this by other travelers we finally got to use our awesome repair kit and it appears that the patch is still holding. The landscapes around Alice Springs are beautiful and to see Uluru by sunset is impressive. But since we are here at the end of the dry season there is no water left in the rivers and billabongs (water holes) but a lot more dust in exchange. This dryness as well as the constantly increasing temperatures and flies are starting to get to us and we hope that this will soon change when we are heading back north towards tropical Darwin.

Upgrade

Driving back from Cape York we established a new personal record and drove 420 km (261 miles) in one day. This might not sound like much but on washboard like dirt roads that’s not too bad and so we congratulate ourselves. As of late Ron now carries a fancy steel basket on his roof with room for all sorts of stuff. To get to this upgrade, Michi had to sweat a lot because the roof basket came from an old Mitsubishi Pajero which was sitting in the back corner of the Mount Isa junk yard surrounded by other wrecked car. Once Michi had unscrewed and hammered this bulky thing off the Pajero he got help from „the boss“ (no, not Bruce Springsteen but apparently the owner of the yard) to cut off the old clamps, the boss even found some black paint to spray over the rusty parts. By coincidence there was also an old Hilux standing around of which we snatched an additional spare wheel. Now we are heading on through sparse landscapes from Outback Queensland to Alice Springs.

Cape York

With Ron back in shape and us knowing the code word for „club soda“ we are now on our way to Cape York and the most northern point of the Australian continent called „the tip“. After we left Cooktown we had to leave the sealed roads behind us and have since been traveling entirely on gravel roads. While at the beginning in Lakefield National park there was not much of a difference to be noticed, but the closer we are getting to the Cape, the more we get shaken trough by corrugations. These happen when a gravel road is traveled by a lot of traffic and heavy vehicles. First these are just small ripples which turn into bigger and bigger gaps running on a right angle to the road. And once you have traveled over such corrugations for several hours you start to wish you had never started your trip and that it please might end soon. But the nearly 1000 km (621 miles) to the tip have their price and it’s payed for by a stiff neck and lots and lots of patience and nerves, as well as some loose screws on Ron.

Of course these hardships aren’t in vain, along the way there are lots of beautiful camp spots directly on the many rivers. One of them is Elliot Falls where there are three refreshing (and most importantly crocodile free) swimming opportunities. To get there though, we first had to hold our breath and drive trough a deep creek including bow wave and slight water entry. But as usual, Ron did not let us down and mastered this task perfectly, but we are anyway starting to realize that the limiting factor on this this trip will not be the car but it’s passengers.

Oh du Helvetia

Helvetia hat uns wieder! Nach fast einem Jahr auf Achse, sind wir am 8. Januar 2014 um 6:37 wieder auf Schweizer Boden gelandet. Carmens Vater war so nett uns vom Flughafen abzuholen und als Dank, haben wir uns gleich bei ihren Eltern einquartiert (die freuen sich bestimmt zwei fast mittelose, langhaarige Rucksackreisende bei sich aufzunehmen). Kaum angekommen gehts schon los mit dem Stress, es gilt erstens eine Wohnung zu finden und zweitens, zumindest für mich, ab Februar wieder einer geregelten Arbeit nachzugehen und mich somit komplett zu assimilieren.

Für uns verging das letzte Jahr in Windeseile und war voller neuer Eindrücke und wundervollen Erlebnissen. Alle hier aufzulisten würde zu lange dauern, doch sind wir gerne bereit, bei einem Abendessen oder zwei, ausführlich darüber zu berichten, inklusive Diashow für hartgesottene ;-) .

Vielen Dank dass Du dir die Zeit genommen hast, ab und zu in unseren Blog reinzuschauen und uns bei unseren Abenteuern zu begleiten.

DirtyHippies

Thailand

Mai Thai, Pinacolada und jede Menge gute Currys. Thailand empfing uns und viele weitere Sonnenhungrige mit warmen Temperaturen und vermeintlich schönen Stränden. Da wir von Tahiti und Australien in Sachen Strände wohl etwas verwöhnt sind, relativierte sich das in Thailand jedoch nach kurzer Zeit. Doch das Essen und die Drinks blieben auf hohem Niveau konstant gut und so liessen wir es uns gut gehen. Da dies die letzte Station auf unsere Reise war, lag das Hauptaugenmerk auf Nichtstun und genießen der letzten Tage als Weltenbummler. Trotzdem blieb uns auch ein bisschen Zeit um uns umzuschauen und ein, zwei Ausflüge mit nicht sehr bequemen, dafür aber umso abenteuerlichen „Longtail”-Booten zu unternehmen.

Fast Forward

Kaum haben wir Perth verlassen mussten wir tatsächlich die Thermounterwäsche anziehen. Wie befürchtet zeigte sich das Wetter eher von der kühlen und unfreundlichen Seite. Da entschied Michi aufs Gaspedal zu drücken mit Ziel Sydney. Die sonnigen Unterbrechungen haben wir genutzt um die eindrücklichen Wälder mit riesigen “Gum Trees” (Eukalyptus Bäume) zu bestaunen, oder ein äusserst erfrischendes Bad im südlichen Ozean zu nehmen. Auf dem Weg zwischen Perth und Sydney liegt nicht nur der Nullarbor welcher mit 145.6 km der längste geraden Strassenabschnitt in Australien ist, sondern auch die beiden Städte Adelaide und Melbourne. Wir haben beide besucht, aber mit unseren Gedanken bereits an einer Strandbar irgendwo in Thailand ließen wir wohl die eine oder andere Sehenswürdigkeit aus, getreu dem Motto „Mut zur Lücke“. Zurück in Sydney, ist nun die Zeit gekommen, sich von Ron zu trennen. Er war ein zuverlässiger und äusserst robuster Weggefährte, doch auch an ihm sind die 35’000 km der letzten 6 Monate nicht spurlos vorbeigezogen.

Perth

Da wir seit Darwin keine Stadt mehr zu sehen bekommen haben, wurde es nun langsam höchste Zeit das zu ändern und so fuhren wir via Monkey Mia, wo Carmen noch kurz einen Delphin zu füttern hatte und ich mein zweites Vorstellungsgespräch mit meinen zukünftigen Arbeitgeber absolvierte (die haben mich trotz oder vielleicht gerade wegen meiner Frisur in der Zwischenzeit tatsächlich angestellt!) nach Perth.

Um der harten Matratze in unserem Dachzelt zu entkommen, übernachteten wir für die paar Tage unseres Besuchs in einem Hostel mitten im Zentrum von Perth. Wir genossen das Stadtleben in vollen Zügen mit Windowshopping, feinem Brot vom Schweizer Beck, Kinobesuch und rumfingern am neuen iPhone. Und obwohl das Wetter merklich kühler und regnerischer war als was wir uns von den letzten Monaten her gewohnt waren fiel es uns schwer das angenehme Tempo und europäische Flair von Perth und Fremantle wieder zu verlassen.

Was das Wetter anbelangt sieht es für die Zukunft noch düsterer aus, je weiter südwärts desto niedriger die Temperaturen, es wird wohl Zeit die Thermounterwäsche wieder hervorzukramen.

Burgundy & Ivory

Kurz nachdem wir mit Ron von Sydney aus gestartet sind, lernte er auf einem Zeltplatz eine gleichaltrige Dame namens Helga kennen. Sie ist ebenfalls in Japan hergestellt ist aber hintenrum etwas fülliger, dafür trägt sie meistens Weiss was nicht so sehr aufträgt wie Burgund. Helga wird pilotiert von Franzi und Christoph, ebenfalls Backpacker welche zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits über ein Jahr unterwegs waren. Leider trennten sich unsere Wege schon am nächsten Morgen wieder, da Helga andere Pläne hatte als Ron.
Nach 3800 km kam es durch Zufall zur Wiedervereinigung, denn Franzi und Christoph übernachteten zur gleichen Zeit am Cape Leveque wie wir, man trifft sich eben immer zweimal im Leben…
In den nächsten Wochen traf man sich des öfteren wieder und erkundete gemeinsam die schönsten und einsamsten Strände entlang dem Ningaloo Reef wo wir die Zeit mit baden, schnorcheln, lesen und faulenzen verbrachten, ehe sich die beiden in Richtung Perth verabschiedeten währendem wir noch ein paar Tage am Red Bluff verweilten inklusive einem Wiedersehen mit alten Bekannten von Carmen.

Kimberley

Mit Westaustralien haben wir nun schon den vierten Bundesstaat innerhalb Australiens erreicht und langsam nähern wir uns der Halbzeit was die Distanz in Kilometer angeht, ob wir es tatsächlich wieder zurück nach Sydney schaffen in der Zeit die uns noch bleibt wird sich zeigen. Unmittelbar nach der Grenze zum Nothern Territory beginnen die Kimberley welche bereits ein erstes Ausrufezeichen setzen und man erwischt sich bei dem Gedanken warum man so viel Zeit an der Ostküste verbracht hat wo es doch hier viel schöner ist. Quer durch die Kimberley Region führt eine abgelegene unbefestigte Strasse genannt Gibb River Road welche sehr beliebt bei Backpackern aus aller Welt ist. So geschieht es dann auch regelmässig das eben diese Backpacker, mit ihren nicht für die Aufgabe gewachsenen Fahrzeugen, irgendwo auf der 660 km langen Strasse meistens mit Reifenpannen stecken bleiben. Auch wir hatten das Vergnügen gleich auf zwei von dieser Sorte zu treffen. Die ersten beiden Typen waren mittelmässig bekifft und hatten keinerlei Werkzeug dabei um ihren kaputten Reifen zu wechseln, fast gleichzeitig mit uns kam ein australisches Paar zu Hilfe und so konnten wir zu viert daneben stehen und uns prächtig darüber amüsieren wie die zwei Jungs in Zeitlupe den Reifen wechselten. Kurze Zeit später, wir hatten uns wieder auf den Weg begeben, trafen wir auf zwei deutsche Abiturienten in einem Jeep Cherokee (wer kauft ein Auto das gebaut wurde damit Helikopter-Eltern ihre Kinder täglich in die 300 Meter entfernte Schule kutschieren können?) ebenfalls mit platten Reifen. Die zwei hatten offenbar schon zwei ziemlich harte Tage hinter sich und schienen ein wenig verzweifelt ab der Tatsache dass sie sich zuerst um ca. 600km verfahren hatten und nun keinen einzigen Schluck Wasser und auch keinen Ersatzreifen mehr besassen, weil erstens dieser nämlich bereits am Auto war und zweitens schon nach wenigen Kilometern gleichzeitig mit seinem Kollegen an der Vorderachse platze sodass sie jetzt vollends gestrandet waren. Nun kann ich aus eigener Erfahrung sagen, dass Männer zwischen 18 und 25 dazu neigen, sehr dumme Ideen zielstrebig umzusetzen, immer im Glauben an die eigenen Fähigkeiten welche selten bis gar nie in Frage gestellt werden. Deshalb und weil unterlassenen Hilfeleistung wohl auch in Australien strafbar ist, gaben wir den beiden zuerst Trinkwasser damit sie den restlichen Tag und die Nacht überstanden. Am nächsten Morgen fuhren wir das eine Genie dann zusammen mit den defekten Reifen zum einzigen Reifenhändler auf der Strecke und wieder zurück. Nach dem wir die zwei wieder ihrem Schicksal überlassen hatten gönnten wir uns noch ein erholsames Bad in der wunderschönen Bell Gorge und genossen die Landschaft um uns herum.

Darwin

Carmen war bereits zweimal in Australien und so erinnert sie sich immer mal wieder an Orte an denen Sie gewesen ist und die schön sein sollen. So war es auch mit dem Litchfield National Park welcher auf dem Weg nach Darwin liegt. Am südlichen Eingang angekommen nahmen wir die 40 km 4WD Strecke in Angriff inklusive einer slalom Flussüberquerung und dem dazugehörigen leichten Wassereintritt. Die Fahrt war einsam (im positiven) und entspannend doch ist der Park weiter nördlich natürlich auch für Busse und Tagestouristen erschlossen und so war es schnell zu Ende mit der Ruhe. Als Carmen vor über zehn Jahren hier war, hatte man die vielen fantastischen Wasserfälle und Schwimmlöcher meistens für sich, mittlerweile fühlt es sich mehr an wie ein Besuch im Alpamare.
In Darwin angekommen war es Zeit für eine Campingauszeit. Als wir Ron vor dem Hilton geparkt hatten und uns mit unseren Rucksäcken der Rezeption näherten, wurden wir ausgiebig von der Dame dahinter gemustert. Ich kann Sie natürlich verstehen, denn mittlerweile sind all unsere Kleider ziemlich eingestaubt und die Frisur (zumindest meine) schreit nicht gerade “business meeting” dann doch eher “Suppenküche”. Darwin ist wahrscheinlich schön, doch können wir das nicht mit Sicherheit sagen, da wir die zwei Tage hauptsächlich damit verbracht haben in einem klimatisierten Zimmer inklusive Dusche und “kingsize” Bett fern zusehen…es war himmlisch.

Rotes Zentrum

Eines der weltbekannten Wahrzeichen von Australien ist der Uluru oder auch Ayers Rock genannt und weil wir gerade in der Nähe waren fuhren wir die knapp 1100 km um ihn uns anzuschauen. Schon kurz nach Beginn der Fahrt dorthin, hatten wir einen platten Reifen. Es hatte sich eine Schraube in den Pneu gebohrt und Luft entwich langsam aber stetig. Durch andere Fahrende darauf hingewiesen konnten wir endlich unser super Reparaturset verwenden und bis jetzt scheint der Flick gut zu halten. Die Landschaft rund um Alice Springs ist wunderschön und den Uluru bei Sonnenuntergang zu sehen hat schon was aber da wir am Ende der Trockenzeit hier sind, hat es kein Wasser mehr in den Flüssen und Billabongs (Wasserlöchern) dafür umso mehr Staub. Diese extreme Trockenheit, die stetig steigenden Temperaturen sowie die vielen Fliegen machen uns allmählich zu schaffen und wir hoffen dass sich das schon bald ändern wird wenn wir zurück in die Tropen in Richtung Darwin fahren.

Upgrade

Zurück vom Cape York haben wir einen persönlichen Rekord aufgestellt. Wir sind innerhalb eines Tages 420 km gefahren. Das mag nicht nach viel klingen, doch auf waschbrettartigen Schotterstrassen ist das gar nicht so schlecht und wir klopfen uns an dieser Stellen selbst auf die Schultern. Seit neuestem trägt Ron auf dem Dach einen schicken Stahlkorb welcher Platz für Ersatzreifen und allerlei Zeugs bietet. Bis es soweit war wurde allerdings geschwitzt, denn der Korb kommt von einem ausgedienten Mitsubishi Pajero welcher umzingelt von anderen Autoleichen in der hintersten Ecke eines Schrottplatzes in Mount Isa stand. Als ich das unhandliche Ding endlich vom Dach geschraubt und gehämmert hatte, half mir „The Boss“ (nicht Bruce Springsteen aber auch mit rauer Stimme und scheinbar der Besitzer des Grundstücks) die alten Halterungen mit der Trennscheibe zu entfernen. Er fand sogar noch etwas schwarze Farbe mit deren Hilfe die rostigen Stellen überdeckt wurden. Der Zufall wollte es das auch noch ein alter Hilux herumstand von welchen wir uns gleich ein Rad stibitzten. Nun geht es ab durch die karge Landschaft von Outback Queensland nach Alice Springs.

Cape York

Mit Ron wieder intakt und dem Codewort für Mineralwasser im Gepäck sind wir nun unterwegs zum Cape York und dem nördlichsten Punkt von Kontinentalaustralien auch „the tip“ genannt. Seit wir Cooktown verlassen haben mussten wir uns auch von den asphaltierten Strassen verabschieden und sind seither ausschliesslich auf Schotterstrassen unterwegs. Zu Beginn im Lakefield National Park war der Unterschied kaum feststellbar, doch je näher wir dem Cape kommen umso mehr werden wir durchgeschüttelt. Im Englischen nennt man es “corrugation” und sie enstehen wenn eine unbefestigte Strasse von viel Verkehr und schweren Fahrzeugen befahren wird. Sind es am Anfang nur kleine Bodenwellen die fast einer Massage gleich kommen werden daraus immer grössere Furchen die rechtwinklig zur Fahrtrichtung verlaufen. Ist man erst einmal mehrere Stunden über solche corrugations gefahren, wünscht man sich man hätte die Reise nie angetreten und das es doch irgendwann ein Ende haben muss. Doch die fast 1000km ans Cape haben eben ihren Preis und der wird mit Nackenschmerzen und viel viel Geduld und Nerven bezahlt.

Natürlich sind die Strapazen nicht umsonst, auf der Strecke hat es zahlreiche wunderschöne Campingmöglichkeiten direkt an den vielen Flüssen. Einer davon war der Elliot Falls Campingplatz bei welchem es gleich drei erfrischende (und vor allem Krokodilfreie) Bademöglichkeiten gab. Um dorthin zu gelangen mussten wir aber noch kurz die Luft anhalten und durch einen tiefen Bach fahren inklusive Bugwelle und leichtem Wassereintritt. Wie üblich liess uns Ron nicht im Stich und meisterte die Aufgabe mit Bravour. Ich beginne sowieso langsam zu begreifen das auf diesem Trip nicht das Auto sondern eher die Insassen eine Limitierung des Machbaren darstellen.